What a Gift.

As we sit here tonight waiting for your mommy and big brother to finish brushing their teeth; your tiny wrinkled hand clasping mine so tight as if to save me from falling from some ledge…your little dark eyes stare through me and I wonder what you’ll be.

What will you love? What will you fall IN love with? What will your passions be and who will inspire you? What will you create and how will you express yourself? What will you deem so important that you couldn’t call me to say you’d be late? How will your life unfold…and how will you change mine?

hello world.

I mark this moment as one of extreme importance. I pause and KNOW how I will look back and be moved to tears because this was so close to the beginning of it all. I freeze these frames in my mind and imagine what it will feel like to look back…20 or 30 years from now and see these same two eyes; to feel this same little wrinkly grip; to be moved so close to tears yet again…and know…that this was it; the beginning of something so very big.

Welcome you to our lives Elliot Ryan Wisniewski. Thank you for joining us, thank you for every beautiful moment between now and that night where I remember this night so vividly, and really wish that I could go back and do it all over again. Ya know, it’s almost as if, I’ve already gotten that wish…and I intend to treat it so…

…as a wish granted.

2 comments

  1. zan · December 23, 2009

    I can’t wait to meet him 🙂

  2. Kate · December 23, 2009

    those are incredible words. and that’s an incredibly beautiful family you’ve got there. elliot sure looks like your wife. congratulations.

Leave a Reply

