Goodnight 2009

Goodnight, you princes of Maine, you kings of New England. Goodnight, you 2009…year of years, another flash before my eyes and everything has changed yet again. But has it really? I still find good sleep hard to come by. I continue to eat too much, drink to much, internet too much…and I can’t.stop.taking.photos.

Either way, 2009 has certainly changed my family, as we are one heavier with the arrival of the beautiful Elliot Ryan Wisniewski on December 20th. He’s made us smile SO much in the past week and a half, with every little adorable grunt and tiny whimper. He is so freakin’ cute. Meanwhile, Oliver’s vocabulary is growing by ten words every day and he is embracing EVERYTHING that is meant when describing the “terrible twos”.

This next year should continue to test us in every way. I have more school comin’ up…that should keep me busy. Wonder when all of that will end. Never? Lizz will continue to juggle everything and keep the whole machine running smoothly. In the immortal words of the Beach Boys, “God only knows, what I’d be, without her.”


Here are some “best of” lists for the past year. I love lists.

Best Flicks we’ve seen from 2009: (we have SO many GREAT looking ones yet to see)

  1. Up
  2. Away We Go
  3. Adventureland
  4. I Love You, Man
  5. Taken

Albums we dug from 2009:

  1. “I and Love and You” – The Avett Brothers
  2. “Wolfgang Amadeus Phoenix” – Phoenix
  3. “Merriweather Post Pavillion” – Animal Collective

TV Shows that kept us tuned in from 2009:

  1. LOST
  2. Mad Men
  3. It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
  4. Eastbound & Down
  5. Community

Websites I LOVED in 2009:

  1. flickr.com
  2. hulu.com
  3. facebook.com

I won’t actually declare any resolutions for the new year, as I never really have. Saying these things out loud is supposed to help you follow through, but for me it only means added pressure to succeed and therefore more anxiety of failure lowering the likelihood that I will actually be able to bring the change I sought to fruition. And so…I’ll only say that I’ll TRY to be a better person. A better lover, husband, father, friend, brother, son. I’ll simply, and truly, try to be a better man. I’ll try to work harder, learn as much as possible, and continue to follow through with things.

And I’ll REALLY try to be a better listener…for once. Oh, and I’ll try to take as many naps as possible. As for the rest of the world…I want to see more love. More music, less war; more helping hands, less hand-outs. More smiles, less pessimism and bullshit and rhetoric and the same ol same ol. I want to see those in power ACTUALLY get things done. I want to see more people admit when they are wrong, and I want them to go out of their way to commend, appreciate, support, create and love. Shouldn’t be that hard, really. What do ya say?

Happy New Year, everyone. I love you all.
~ryan

“Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors,
and let each new year find you a better man.” ~ Benjamin Franklin

4 comments

  1. ryanwiz · January 3, 2010

    Forgot: Dan Auerbach’s “Keep It Hid”. DAMN fine album.

  2. Zan · January 4, 2010

    Stop taunting me with your baby! Don’t think I won’t come charging down there!

    Also, Oliver better be able to say “Zan” by the time I do get there. I’m holding you to this.

    Happy 2010. You are an amazing writer. You piss me off, yet I love you. So, you are definitely officially a member of our family.

    • ryanwiz · January 4, 2010

      ‘Bout time. 😉
      You be like, “Say my name, bitch!”
      And he be like, “CAR! CAR!”

  3. roncap · January 11, 2010

    The picture on this blog is rad. It says so much. I have reading different parts of your blog.

    It is very nice and heartful, thank you.

Leave a Reply

