Dads entertain, Moms maintain.

You wanna know what’s one of the most fun things in the world? A toddler who will run up to ya and give ya a hug and pat you on the back and say, “Ohhh…Da-daaaahhh.”

You wanna know what’s one of the most frustrating things in the world? A toddler that WON’T.GO.TO.SLEEP. Seriously….Oliver has got to get his sleeping schedule on track. Between his rocky nighttime rituals and Elliot waking every couple hours for food, farts or messy pants, this is dragging out to be one of the longest winters ever. Ugh.

At least I have the fun job. I come home and we PARTY. Music, dancing, fake naps, cats & dogs living together….it’s fantastic. I keep the wolves at bay with weird faces and awkward body movements. I smile and they smile. I laugh and they laugh. I cry and they laugh.

Meanwhile, back at the farm, Lizz plays the practical straight-cop and gets the job DONE. Almost every messy-pant-hose-down, and deliciously-awesome-chow-down is her handiwork; always executed with a calm cool finesse, her routines and hard work are the serious glue to my flippant flag-twirling fun parades.

Sure, moms can be fun too…but if they didn’t get serious here and there….we’d simply fall apart. Everybody has a roll. Momma gets the work done, Dadda tries to get everyone to have some fun, Oliver keeps the blood pressure up and Elliot smiles a lot. Good times, good times. Now….if we could all just get a little more sleep….

Oh, and I still long for the days of summer.
beeeeeer.

One comment

  1. Zan · February 17, 2010

    This is the longest winter ever. I am going to start sending you and Lizz waves of deep relaxation during my weekly sauna time. Or, hmmm…maybe I should be sending them to Oliver.

Leave a Reply

