A Reminder

I said goodbye to my grandmother today. My children, their great-grandmother. Think about that for a moment. Just THINK of the longevity of that influence.

Over the past week I’ve been thinking about how we touch the world when we share it with those who not only come FROM us, but who ARE us. I think about how every time we teach, we learn…and about how important every single moment is while spent in the arms and minds of loved ones.

Each of us has but one…and my father said goodbye to his mother today.

Having only spent a limited amount of time in her presence over the years, I really can’t pretend to know who Nana was outside of knowing this: My father wouldn’t be half the amazing man he is today having not been raised by her, and therefore I wouldn’t be one-quarter of the man I am today if not for her guidance, influence, care and love.

I’m overwhelmed with the love I feel for my own mother for all the same reasons; for all that I owe to her and for how much I will miss her when she’s gone. My heart is truly heavy for my father and for his brother and sister tonight.

I can’t really remember the last time I felt so much love for my family.

It’s funny, ya know…how every once in a while, we’re given a little shove; a little reminder of what’s really important.

Thank you, Nana, for so many things. For your love, my father…and this loving reminder.

Leave a Reply

