your favorite movie sucks.

The AV Club had a fun article the other day where some folks discussed what they thought were the Academy’s biggest blunders in choosing Best Picture. I agree with some of them, but I thought I’d put together my own list because, well…I like lists.

Worst Best Picture:

  • Crash
    How this pandering schlock won over Munich, Capote and Brokeback Mountain, I’ll never know.
  • Argo (Runner-Up)
    IMO, this over-rated period piece was a pretty meh movie for best picture. Although, the whole category sorta stunk that year. Sure, they weren’t bad films, and I did enjoy Django Unchained, Life of Pi, Silver Linings Playbook and Zero Dark Thirty…but I’m not sure any of them will really endure the test of time.

Worst Best Picture Choice Of The Lot:

  • Shakespeare in Love – Not a terrible movie, IIRC, but it won over Saving Private Ryan?
  • Forrest Gump – This is NOT better than Pulp Fiction or The Shawshank Redemption.
  • Dances With Wolves – Liked it, but Goodfellas is FAR superior.

What do YOU think?

Leave a Reply

